The family. We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.

You choose your own family. You are born into one, but you also grow up and find other members that you like to call your family. Ive always been blessed to have good friends around, to support me and help me when Im down and dont know how to get back up. Some of those friends I would like to call family. And as far as I know, family will always be family. I would never call someone my sister if I knew that something may drive us apart someday. Family gets through everything, if not- I guess its not by heart.

So was I wrong?

So do you not choose your family?  Are they God’s gift to you, as you are to them? Should we separate friends and family from the start so we dont get hurt by our own “family”?

I dont know. I guess its a  diffrent answer for every individ. But all I know for myself is that I obviously let some friends too close, and I now lost a family member.

To me, family means putting your arms around each other and being there.

Listen to eachother, dont always think you are right, there are always two sides of a story. Stop being stubborn, and LISTEN. Stop with the pointing finger.

Leave a Reply

